Past and Future Conferences

The World Wide Web was first conceived in 1989 by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland. The first conference of the series, WWW1, was held at CERN in 1994 and organized by Robert Cailliau. The IW3C2 was founded by Joseph Hardin and Robert Cailliau later in 1994 and has been responsible for the conference series ever since. Except for 1994 and 1995 when two conferences were held each year, WWWn became an annual event held in late April or early May. The location of the conference rotates among North America, Europe, and Asia.

Starting with 2018 edition, the conference series has been rebranded as The Web Conference. The IW3C2 took this decision to allow a better visibility of this event, especially on social networks.

The Web Conference series aims to provide the world a premier forum for discussion and debate about the evolution of the Web, the standardization of its associated technologies, and the impact of those technologies on society and culture. The Web conferences bring together researchers, developers, users and commercial ventures – indeed all who are passionate about the Web and what it has to offer.

List of Pevious Hosts

  • 2019 San Francisco USA
  • 2018 Lyon France
  • 2017 Perth Australia
  • 2016 Montreal Canada
  • 2015 Florence Italy
  • 2014 Seoul Korea
  • 2013 Rio Brazil
  • 2012 Lyon France
  • 2011 Hyderabad India
  • 2010 Raleigh USA
  • 2009 Madrid Spain
  • 2008 Beijing PRC
  • 2007 Banff Canada
  • 2006 Edinburgh UK
  • 2005 Chiba Japan
  • 2004 New York USA
  • 2003 Budapest Hungary
  • 2002 Honolulu USA
  • 2001 Hong Kong
  • 2000 Amsterdam Netherlands
  • 1999 Toronto Canada
  • 1998 Brisbane Australia
  • 1997 Santa Clara USA
  • 1996 Paris France
  • 1995
    Boston USA
  • 1995
    Darmstadt Germany
  • 1994
    Chicago USA
  • 1994
    Geneva Switzerland